What’s with these 10000 steps?

On my left wrist I wear a band.  It serves as a watch and a step counter and I like it.  I like knowing how many steps I take.  I liked reaching the 10000 step mark and going a little over for those 12 days in a row.  But while my brain is happy, my self esteem is pretty stoked…my feet are very unhappy right now.

So I wondered why the number 10,000 as the “recommended Daily minimum!”  Really?  Who came up with that number?

Turns out it was the Japanese in the 1960’s.  It sounds pretty good in Japanese and thats what they called their pedometers.  This according to Lara Rosenbaum of the Fitbit Blog.

It’s a nice easy number, I think, and it is doable.  But to say it’s the minimum?  My feet beg to differ.

One thing to consider is your size.  I am obese (still) and 5 miles of walking is hard.  8600 is where I’m at right now, at the end of a work day.  Going for a walk after writing this blog post will get me over the mark.  But what do my feet say?  What do your feet say?  Listen to them.

I’ve lowered my goal just a bit.  My new minimum is 8500.  I have to make some effort to get there, and that’s important.  Moving towards a healthy weight requires some work and sacrifice.   If I can maintain a monthly average of over 9000 steps per day I will be happy.  And if for 3 or 4 days I can get over 10,000 steps – that my friends is icing on the cake!

And now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, I’m going to enjoy some air (not the greatest air today in Beijing – but okay)

Walking is great, dancing is great – enjoy the journey!

I wrote a little bit about my goals here, so you can check that out too if you’d like!

I’m off!

Marcia

 

 

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

