Revamping the Porridge!

As I looked back on this blog, I realized that the last post was all about porridge.  This is a good thing, because many of us enjoy a good bowl of porridge as a meal.  I was going to write “Breakfast” but I think that narrows the scope of when we can eat this mealhttp://www.bingemans.com/camping/index.ph.  It would maAnyke a great supper too, I think – although I haven’t tried it yet.  Maybe next week I could flip my meals!

Anyways, a lot has happened in the last months – I went home to all the good stuff I missed on this side of the Pacific – like Dempster’s Bread, maple syrup (and cheese), Dutch Chocolate sprinkle sandwiches….and lots of varieties of chocolate bars.  I have to be honest and say I went a bit crazy.  I wonder if sharing those summer months would have helped me stay more in control.

I’m back in Beijing for another year of teaching…although I almost did NOT get on the plane.  Part of the struggle was that my suitcases needed to go on a major diet if I was to get them on the plane!  And they had as hard a time losing weight as I did.  So I did the next best thing and took three suitcases.  The airport weigh scale informed me that they were all overweight!  That was crazy too.  So I managed to get the suitcases to the okay point and they did not weigh my carry-on!  I just had to leave my canned salmon behind.

I  many books with me this year and some of them were very heavy.  One of them is Discover the Power of Food by Janet Jacks.  I had read this book last summer but left it with my daughter.  This year I decided to take it with me to Beijing for some late night reading.  (This doesn’t work because the book is too heavy to hold while trying to fall asleep. Just to warn you!)

I have found it difficult to find a store that carries everything that I want, but thank goodness for the internet shopping mall called Taobao.  This is where China shops.  I have found steel cut oats there, but I haven’t ordered them yet!  I need to pay my connection for this weeks order.

“Janet’s Favourite Oatmeal”  calls for steel cut oats, salt, coconut butter ghee, hemp hearts, ground flax seeds and optional raisins.

Right now I’m using slowcook oats and millet as my main grain, star anise, pepper and tumeric for flavouring, and raisins and dried goji berries for fruit.  Tomorrow that is set to change, as I can now add coconut oil, hemp hearts and chia seeds to the mix.  I am so excited for tomorrow’s breakfast!

book-cover

 

You can find out more at :

http://discoverthepoweroffood.ca/ and at:

https://goodnessme.ca This is a far more informative link that includes podcasts and information about her stores in Southern Ontario!

Also check out her Facebook page and Youtube.  That’s what I’m doing later on this evening.

There are many books available (and I have several back home) but this one made it onto the plane and I will be using it this year as I try to lose at least 10 pounds this year.  (Maybe not what I originally set out to do – but I do intend to reach a healthy weight before I turn 65!)

Take care and thanks for joining me once again on this journey!

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Monthlies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

