Porridge – China Style!

http:/

Today I had the opportunity to try something I had heard about early in my China adventure.  Although breakfast is offered free of charge at my school, I have chosen to continue my habit of eating porridge.  In Canada it was a fairly simple recipe – oats, fruit and water, with coconut oil added sometimes, but certainly nothing complicated.  Then I heard about La Ba Zhou (Porridge) and set about modifying my breakfast.

By adding the millet, nuts and sesame seeds, I thought I was getting close to the real thing, but now that I’ve gotten the real deal at the Lama Temple here in Beijing, I know I need to revisit breakfast.  Especially since there is no oatmeal in this pot.

My challenge is that I cook for one and would have to cook at reheat my porridge, something I have done in the past, so that isn’t so bad.

The two links below include recipes and information, but remember:  this is only one of many recipes that take advantage of the season and the location.  Use what is available!

I’ve combined porridge oats, millet and a German porridge mix that is easily available.  To this I add some raisins, dried berries and nuts.  I’ve also included sesame seeds and pumpkin seeds, but no beans since they take too long to cook.  To add more flavour and anti-oxidants I’ve added star anise, tumeric and some black pepper to the mix.  Sometimes I also add a few oolong tea leaves.  I try to soak the ingredients overnight, which is when I add my salt.  (1/4 cup mix to 1 cup water)

This with half a chopped apple makes a pretty great breakfast.  My next experiment will be the full out La Ba porridge  – because it is GREAT!  Try it and see!

Enjoy your porridge!

Marcia

/cultureofchinese.com/food/chinese-dish-recipes/laba-festival-laba-rice-porridge/

http://www.healthy-chinese-recipe.com/laba-porridge-recipe.html#.VpsogCorKM8

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Weeklies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Porridge – China Style!

  1. carol says:

    I’m always looking for ways to increase my turmeric consumption– how much , and do the other ingredients lessen the taste of the turmeric?

  2. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    Hi Carol, I don’t taste the tumeric in my porridge and I don’t really taste the pepper anymore either. And I am starting not to miss the salt I forget to add at the end too! But I’m not adding a full teaspoon of it to every bowl either! I’ve been adding tumeric to lots of things, I never notice a change in the taste!

Leave a Reply

