Still Climbing!

There’s more information here about the actual climb and it’s also the source of my picture, so I thought I’d share it first off!

http://www.iconadventures.com.au/blog/climbing-mount-kilimanjaro-2/

kili1

 

Some day I hope to be one of these people, fit and ready to reach the top of a mountain!  In the meantime I keep racking up the elevation on my fitness machines at the Y and taking notes.

This month I added up the elevation I climbed as I exercised on the elliptical and the bike.  The total was a nice round number:

2223 + 10810 + 7926 + 5841 ft  = 26800 feet of elevation for the month of January.

To climb up and down my mountain, I need to do 38682 ft.  So, I’ve definitely reached the top and I’m on the way down!  Just 11882 feet to go and I can head back to Canada and climb our Mount Logan!  I should be done that by the end of this week!

I shifted to doing more time on the elliptical because it burned those calories a lot faster and I still need to burn between 3 and 5 hundred calories per workout.  The Mount Killimanjaro option is still the one of choice, but I’m moving up to level 8 on all my machines.  My goal is to move one level up each week until I reach level 12.  I’m also trying to increase my time on the rowing machine and I’m up to 12 minutes.  The goal has been to burn at least 100 calories there before I head to the elliptical.

Weights has taken a bit of a back seat as I continue the situps, crunches etc.  We’ll see how it keeps progressing.  In the meantime, I’m being encouraged by the success of my daughter who is working off her post-baby belly.  It sure is more fun to have an encouragement partner on the journey!

I need to keep working on the rest of my life, so I’ll stop for now.  I do want to get things done so that I can be at the gym nice and early!  Enjoy the day wherever you are!

Marcia

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Monthlies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Climbing!

  1. Laura says:

    Hi Marcia! We really hope you achieve your dream of climbing Mt Kilimanjaro. Your training is going well, but make sure you get out of the gym and onto some real hills whenever possible. It’s the very best way to prepare for your adventure. Feel free to contact us if you need any advice. The Icon Adventures Team.

Leave a Reply

