Climbing Mountains

Working out has to fun and it has to have some purpose and goal.  For me there has to be something more tangible than simply getting fitter and losing weight.  Losing weight is not guaranteed – especially if you have some bad habits like Peanut butter!

I don’t know if your workout equipment does this, but at the Saddletowne YMCA where I mostly work out, the bikes, treadmills, and elliptical machines tell me the elevation I have climbed during my workout.  I have begun doing the “Kilmenjero” options in the HILLS section.  It’s a nice gradation of elevation and I’m having fun.

kilamanjaro

I am also NOT a mountain climber.  I don’t really like heights and I get nervous using the climbing wall.  But here’s my plan to climb some mountains this year – maybe even all of the mountains on the “Seven Summits” list – with the addition of Mount Logan, which is the highest mountain in Canada.

Because of a random conversation, Mount Kilimanjaro is first on the list at 19308 ft.

So far, I’ve tallied 4715 ft on the bike, 2560 ft. on the elliptical and 106 ft on the treadmill for a grand total of 7381 ft.  That means I have only 11,927 ft. to go.  I’m thinking that I could finish this challenge by the end of January!  I’ll add more numbers next week!

Happy Exercising

Marcia

(PS:  I didn’t have any spoonfuls of peanut butter last night!  Just woke up 3 diferent times.)

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking! EDIT: 2021. I am not closer to my weight goal, but moving forward. The budget is still small. We are renting our homestead and progressing towards our family dream!
This entry was posted in The Dailies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment