real Life,

…The Hands-on Pound-off Guide

Available from TOPS.org and Amazon!

Available from TOPS.org and Amazon!

This arrived in the mail, and I’ve been enjoying it almost ever since.  That’s the way it seems with books about losing weight – you start and then you peter off.

So far I’ve figured out the numbers and here they are:

Carbs:  I should eat 250 – 275 g. per day, 65 – 75 at meals, and 30 in a snack.

Fibre:  30 grams per day, 6  per meal or snack

Protein:  88 g. per day

Fat:  60-67 grams of fat, no more than 22 g. of saturated fat and ZERO trans fats.

Sodium:  no more than 1500 mg.

Calcium:  At least 1200 mc. per day

Calories:  1800 – 2000 calories, a little lower on the days I don’t work out!

These are good numbers to have written down somewhere, and to rework as the weight slowly comes off.  (I still don’t get why it comes on so slow!)

This is the nutrition prescription – and something I need to consider when planning my meals.

Chapter 2 is all about Meal planning, so that’s another post.  But I will say this – their tracking idea is great.  Start with tracking one food group and add another each week.  I’m tracking bread and “treats” for the next little while.

Have a good day.  It’s a new one, and worth enjoying!

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

