What Routine?

gluten free porridge

gluten free porridge (Photo credit: elana’s pantry)

It seems as if I am always trying to find a routine.  Just discovered, via an ‘almost’ error, that routine has the word “rut” in it.  That’s something to think about.

Anyways, I’ve left my blog alone for far too long – and it shows, even on the weighscale.   I came back from my vacation (cruise and family time) with a gain of 6 pounds.  I can’t blame any of this on the cruise.  My clothes fit just fine when I got off the boat! 

But, a week in my mom’s kitchen will do it to me every time.  I drink more coffee than usual, more wine than usual, and I sit more than usual as well. 

I’ve been home for a week and a half – and it has zipped by – visits with my daughter, work at both jobs, an early morning job interview, and decluttering. 

On the plus side – I’ve been getting my “5 minutes” in every day this month – sometimes just barely, but they’ve been there.  Yesterday I walked from work to Penningtons to buy some work pants (I got a dress, two tops and a watch instead).  Today I showed up at the gym and did some elliptical work.  Sadly, What Not to Wear was one I’d already seen, so I wasn’t as engaged in that.  Still it’s important to remember that my style is a reflection of who I am and who I want to become – professionally and personally. 

This is the reality of my life – there is NO ROUTINE!  But within that there are little bits of routine that make life work.  Like my breakfast of coffee and porridge.  Like my great salads that I have for lunch.  Like my decision not to have lunch by the fireplace at work (because I always seem to buy something I hadn’t planned on eating!)

Here’s hoping that next week finds me a pound lower.  I’m going to work at making it happen this week!

Have a good one!

Marcia

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies, The Monthlies, The Weeklies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Routine?

  1. Pingback: An Update on Daughters, Dishes, Cats, Banshee’s and Reality Blogging | seventhvoice

Leave a Reply

