March marches On.

English: Shelled almonds (Prunus dulcis) Itali...

English: Shelled almonds (Prunus dulcis) Italiano: Mandorle sgusciate (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And so do I.  It’s been a long, long winter for me – and I’ve never felt that way about winter before.  Maybe it’s because I have had the prospect of a Caribbean cruise to look forward to.  You’d think I’d be doing everything I could do to lose some of this excess poundage, but it hasn’t worked out that way at all.  Events don’t seem to motivate me at all – not the birth of my granddaughter, the future wedding of my daughter (although that’s been delayed a while).

This is what motivates me more than anything else: The calendar on my fridge.  I’ve been

IMAG0253pretty faithful with this – only missing one day this year due to a pretty painful Charley Horse that kept me awake at night, and brought my cane out of hibernation.  I’ve also had a binge on ice-cream and cookies over the last week – and today it showed up on the TOPS scale with another gain.

However, the news is not all bad.  I have had some success with a new habit I’m working on – not eating when I get home from work.  I’m on my third read of the Habit book, which probably means I should buy it.  Or download it as an audio or Kobo/Kindle.

Here’s the habit I’m working to create.  When I get home from work late at night (10:30ish) I don’t go to my computer.  I make a cup of herbal tea and warm up my hot water bottle.  I get into my PJ’s, brush my teeth, and get into a nice warmed-up bed.  No food, no snacks, just a bit of light reading and lights out.  I do have a snack at 9 pm. which I’d like to be almonds – but I have to remember to bring them to work.  (Tonight I had toast because I didn’t think of the almonds until now!).  The reward of this new habit is the nice warm bed and being asleep before midnight!

Well, just writing about this has started me yawning.  So, I think I will call it a night and start the habit loop a bit earlier!  Why not?

Hoping to be more consistent –

Marcia!

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Weeklies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

