21 Days In!

IMAG0161Well, here’s my calendar shot for today.  As you can see, I’ve been pretty diligent on the moving business.  Yesterday’s circle was a close call however.  I was sitting in bed with the laptop (first time for that) and suddenly I realized that I had not done my 5 minutes of moving!  I could have done it while waiting for the train to start, but you are always expecting it to leave at any second (and it didn’t!)  Missed opportunity.  On the other side, I had planned to go to the gym and watch Downton Abbey while on the elliptical.  It was cold so I didn’t.  I know what you might be thinking just now – Excuses, excuses, excuses.  So why is there a yellow dot on yesterday?

Because at 10:37 pm. I got out of my warm toasty bed with the hot water bottle keeping my tootsies toasty warm.  IN MY PYJAMAS, bare feet in my big winter boots – and I walked to the traffic light and back.  Not terribly long, but more than 5 minutes.  Then I proudly posted my sticker on the calendar and went to bed – without  grabbing a snack either!  What made the difference?

First of all, I’ve been setting out the evening “snack” before I go to bed.  A cup of tea or a cup of soup (Liptons), three prunes in a Tupperware Midget container (You know those small ones the size of a shooter?) and my evening dose of vitamins.  Last night I also started reading a book: Ruby’s Diary by Ruby Gettinger.imgres

That’s what got me out of bed to get the walk in.  It also kept me from rooting in the fridge and freezer for something to munch on.  Which got me thinking about habits that I could build into my evening in order to keep me from eating too much after work.  After all, most days I don’t get home until around 11 pm. and it does take some time to wind down before sleeping.  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  • Setting out what I can have before bed.
  • Reading something that inspires me to do “right by me” and to “stay the course”
  • On the train, coming home – imagining how I want my evening to go.

I know lots of people struggle with the “night-time” munchies.  How do you cope?

I did weigh in at the gym today, and it was 229 again.  Just got to keep going and working on doing the best for me!

Have a great day, and feel free to share what you’re doing to beat the “Beast” as Ruby calls it!

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

