When the Going gets Tough…

I don’t blog.  Last week my weight went up yet again, returning to the 232 mark.  I was so ticked that I didn’t blog at all.  But… I did look at what needed changing – and I changed.

So I’m happy to say that this week I lost 5 pounds and hit the 227 mark.  I know that my goal to lose a pound a week this year is not going to happen – well the consistent loss didn’t.  However, that’s not to say that I can’t get back on track and work towards becoming consistent.

So what changed between last Thursday and today?

One thing that changed was my hair.  Yes, you read that right.  Why does that matter?  Here’s the story…

My Anytime Fitness on Elbow Drive now has TV’s attached to the elliptical.  At the right time of day (10 am) I can watch CSI Miami – or What Not to Wear.  Last Thursday I watched Stacey and Clinton.  Their guest reminded me of me.  Especially the hair.  It had been about a year since I’d last let someone near it with scissors.   Fortunately for me, the hair salon in our little mall (Just Barb’s) had an opening just when I had the time – so I bit the bullet and got it done!  I felt – like a million bucks.

Last Thursday I decided that I would not buy chocolate bars (or  chewy ginger cookies) and instead I would start saving up for my next date with the hairdresser.   Last Thursday I decided to stop living in the moment (at least where chocolate bars and cookies are concerned) and put my focus on a future pleasure – getting my hair cut.

This week I’m going to continue to stay away from the chocolate bars – and I’m not buying the Halloween candy either!

I”m also going to show up at my gym and get my work-out in.  It’s not always going to be that hour, but I’ll be there doing something.  Big question – how to fund the boxing class I want to take there?

Have a great day!

Marcia

 

 

  • Tough. (ichalkit.wordpress.com)
About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Weeklies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

