The Thigh Who Loved Me!

Since I’m off work today, I’m doing a little bit of cooking.  That’s the name of the recipe and it’s from this wonderful book, written by two crazy ladies who make me smile every time I open the book. The book itself is out of print but they

have a new compilation book out there, so not all is lost.  You can also check out their website which will, I’m sure be very entertaining.  Today I’m making chicken thighs – well I was planning to make them, but my Co-op store was out of the thighs that were on sale and I ended up getting chicken breasts instead.  It’s okay.  It’s in the oven and making my house smell delicious!

Of course, being me, I changed it up a little bit, so I’ll give you the recipe as a bit of a teaser to get you to check out their latest – The Looneyspoon Collection  which I am sure  you can order from your local book seller.  Mine is Owlsnest Books here in Calgary.

You need about three pounds (1300 g.) of boneless, skinless chicken thighs or chicken meat, but I think you could use turkey too if you had it.

The sauce is made from 3/4 cups ketchup, 1/2 a cup of salsa, 1/4 cup of honey, a tablespoon of Dijon mustard and some spices.  They suggest a teaspoon of chili powder and 1/2 a teaspoon of ground cumin.  I had some fajita mix hanging around so I just added a scoop or two of that. Mix it all very well.

Put the chicken in a lightly greased (PAM-like products work well) 9 x 13 pan.  I cut my breasts in half.  Scoop the sauce over the meat and then flip the meat around to cover both sides.  Bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes if you are using the thighs and 30 minutes if you are using the breasts.

You should have 6 servings.  I’m thinking that the sauce will be nice over rice so I’m going to cook up some of that.  Then I’m going to freeze them up and have meals ready to go again!

Now I need to go drink some water and eat some veggies.

If I don’t get to it tonight, I will post a “Golf Score Card” tomorrow!

Have a wonderful Saturday!

Marcia

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies, The Weeklies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

