Shall I Blame it on the Kugel?

English: Bell pepper

Image via Wikipedia

Today, being Sunday, and me being off, I usually go to church.  But it didn’t happen that way and instead I was invited to a celebration of Purim.  It was a dinner at a local synagogue, and a delightful event to say the least.  I finally got to taste kugel and I have to say that it was delicious.  I just don’t know how many calories were in it.  Therein lies the challenge.  I did some internet research suggesting that a serving may have about 300 calories.  But my Nutribase doesn’t have kugel in its data base, so I used bread pudding instead.  This is called flexibility and making things work.  The numbers won’t be perfect today but they’ll be kind of close.  Anyways it was a delightful way to spend my Sabbath.

Here’s what I ate today:

  • 1 slice of french toast made with my delicious bread
  • 1 large red bell pepper.  Half of it I ate raw and the other half I used in a one egg omelet.  The omelet was topped with a wedge of Manchego cheese, crumbled and melted.  It was very delicious!
  • Of course I had and enjoyed my coffee
  • A Purim feast:  A hallah bun, baked salmon, delicous kugel (sweetish which I like!), tossed salad, 3 small pieces of watermelon, two hamentassen (cookies)  and a bouquet of tulips which I am not planning to eat but just enjoy.
  • two cups of diet tea (I bought this from an herbalist at the Kingsland Farmer’s Market yesterday)  I like it because I don’t need to sweeten it!
  • a bowl of delicous spaghetti squash soup (lots of veggies in it and tofu)
  • Porridge with blueberries
  • half of a dragon fruit (very delicious and on sale at Calgary Co-op this week.  I think I will get a few more – and some pineapple and mangos)

As it stands, according to my Nutribase, here’s what I ate:

  • 1865 calories
  • 85 grams of protein
  • 239 g of carbs (not enough)
  • 67 g of fat (too much)
  • 27 grams of fibre – good.

So far the porridge switch is working for me.  I’m not eating all night and I’ve managed to avoid drowning in the peanut butter jar!

Now I’m off to bed.  We’ll see what the morning brings.

Rest well.

Marcia

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

