The Baklava Did me in…

Today was a pretty good day and I have to say I’m glad I have it to remember.  We had a bit of a girls day out, Emma and I, helping Dayle do her first pedicures at Gelous Spa in southeast Calgary!  We supplied the feet and the munchies!

My day began with a workout at the gym – quite later than usual as it doesn’t open until 8 am.  I enjoyed a lovely bath, coffee and breakfast before my workout, and then raced out straight afterwards to meet Emma at Heritage Station.  We walked over to the Kingsland Farmer’s Market where we met Dayle, explored all the vendors, tasted lots of goodies and bought our Ambrosia Pizza (vegetarian with multigrain crust), some baklava (redolent with honey!) and then headed deep south and east to the spa.  I thoroughly enjoyed my dessert, but it sure shows up on my calorie count.  It’s a good thing I don’t do this often!

As it stands at 7 pm, I’ve eaten the following, according to my TOPS Nutribase program (very old but very familiar)

  • 1817 calories
  • 108 grams of protein
  • 234 grams of carbohydrates
  • 49 grams of fat – all of it in the baklava!
  • 27 grams of fiber

If I check the exchanges I’ve improved on the protein side of things, but the veggies need more work and so do the fruit.  I’ve only had one today.  Thankfully I have lots of apples and cucumbers if I need to snack.  But now I need to go and study!

Have a good evening!

Marcia

 

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

