Time to Enjoy Asparagus…

Deutsch: Grünspargel English: Green asparagus ...

Image via Wikipedia

At Calgary Co-op, all this week, well up until Thursday, March 1, asparagus is on sale for $1.49 a pound – and it is very, very good.

I concocted another version of a buddah bowl with lots of asparagus in it.  And today I made soup with lots of asparagus and some imitation crab. It started out with a recipe from Chatelaine magazine, but morphed into something quite different.  Here’s my version.

900 ml. broth – vegetable, chicken, fish

400 ml. light coconut milk

1 large bunch of asparagus, chopped into small pieces.

1 cup beans, frozen or fresh

1 small carrot, grated or chopped small

227 g. pkge. of imitation crab, diced.

1 tbsp. grated ginger

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup chopped parsley or cilantro

Maggi-Flasche. Neue Flasche, 2006.

Image via Wikipedia

Pour the coconut milk into the soup pot.  Use the broth to rinse out the coconut milk tin, so that you get every bit of it!  Bring to a boil over high heat.  Chop the asparagus into small pieces, about 1/2 inch or smaller, grate or chop the carrots and ginger.  Add it all to the soup as it heats up.  When it’s boiling, add the chopped crab and salt.  You can also add some Maggi to add great flavour.  I grew up with this on the table and it is truly delicious.

Let it simmer for a bit and then enjoy.  My recipe made 5 servings at about 230 calories.

I think I’ll be eating alot of asparagus this week.  What about you?  What’s on sale in your neighbourhood, and what are you going to do with it?

On the diet front it’s been a good day.  I’ve just been struggling with a toothache, so lots of painkillers just to keep going.

Have a good rest everyone. I promise to post weighin stuff tomorrow!

Marcia

 

Image via Wikipedia
About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

