A New Recipe…

I hope you had a good Sunday – I sure did, although I think I really need to get new pants for work.  Things are getting a little slippery again!  Good news for me!

I got a recipe from my dietician for a Buddah Bowl.  Now a  buddah bowl can be one of two things:

or 

The recipe for the meal on the right is at this link.  But to let you know, it’s not really like mine.  Mine consists of some starch (I used 1 cup of whole grain rice noodles) 100 grams of tofu, cubed, a tomato – sliced, a green onion-diced, some cucumber and an amazing dressing.

For the dressing I took the zest off a lime and the juice from inside it, about a tablespoon of grated ginger, a tablespoon of sesame oil ( and don’t substitute something else for this, the flavour of sesame oil is something I’m really beginning to enjoy) a tablespoon of honey and 4 tablespoons of soya sauce.  (this is enough for four servings, three of which are in the fridge and the other is in my tummy)

If  you search for buddah bowl recipes,  you’ll find all kinds of recipes, which leads me to believe that anything can go into making one – so here’s my formula:

One or two servings of starch – noodles, rice, quinoa, millet, or a mix

As many veggies as you like- spinach, carrots, corn, onion, cucumber, tomato…they can be raw, cooked or steamed, however you like them.

And a dressing over top of it all – to add some flavour.

So that was my creative cooking after work.  This is not a very expensive meal, but I have to say it was very filling.  I am looking forward to enjoying it again tomorrow.

Everything else went as planned today as well.  So I have no regrets about what I’ve eaten or how much I’ve moved.  But I am looking forward to the gym tomorrow!

Have a good night everyone!

Marcia

Some protein – chicken, tofu, beef…

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Recipe…

  1. Pingback: Go Like Egypytian « curvyelviesays

Leave a Reply

