Denial Doesn’t Help.

I can’t remember the last time I checked in on this blog – I didn’t even check to see if anyone was reading it.

Slip-sliding away!

A few weeks ago I hit a skid  and I’ve been sliding ever since.  Well, until last night, at TOPS when I hit the wall!  My weigh-in put me at 230 pounds – a net gain of 6.5 pounds.  Even I, in the midst of my denial, didn’t think I’d hit 230.

So here I’m sitting, sipping a cup of Mexican hot-chocolate and finally summoning up the courage to pull myself out of the ditch.  Well, I don’t think I can do this alone, and I’m fortunate enough not to have to.  People  have been knocking at the door of this blog, even if I’ve been unavailable.  That is heartening to me.  Even though the knocks are anonymous, they did knock, and I hope that if you’ve been knocking, you’ll find me ready to answer again.

So, here’s the new reality.  First, I did weigh 230 pounds or 230.5.  I can’t remember.  That means that next Thursday I have to weigh 229. I’m not giving up on the “one week, one pound” part of this.  It does mean, however, that I have to figure out a way to simply and easily share what I am doing – especially in the area of eating.  It may simply be linking to a chart for now.

In all of this I haven’t missed the gym, except on Tuesday when I was not feeling too well.  I missed work as well and simply let myself get better, which I am.  I can’t walk as long as I’d like to because of the pain in my ankle area.  I’m taking Advil regularly and icing when I remember.

So, thanks for checking in on me.  I’m back.  Because pretending something isn’t happening, doesn’t make it go away.

Thanks,

Marcia

 

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

