What’s the Point?

I’m reading, as I have for the last  year, mostly, a book called Napoleon Hills A Year of Growing Rich, 52 steps to Achieving Life’s Rewards.  It’s a book I picked up just before I began to show up at the gym every morning.  Each week I read a different chapter, but I read it every day for that week.  Sometimes different thinks come out of the same read.  I like the practice.  This blog isn’t going to focus on it, except as it relates to my red goal and purpose of becoming healthy.   But you can check here for my thoughts on the reading. 

The goal is of course to lose:  Each week a pound.  This is reasonable, sensible, and I should be able to do it.  I should have been able to do it last year and I didn’t.  Actually I probably did, but with all the yo-yoing I gained some of it back.  Whatever.  I still did lose over 25 pounds!

The plan to get there:  Continue going to the gym.  Get a better handle on my eating.  “Write the Bites”  is a good way to describe what it is I need to do.  Exercise with friends and family.  I’ve connected with a dietician.  That should start next week too!

Lots of this is in the process of being “organized” in my head.  However, I have begun to write things down.  And sharing the ups and downs of my day is part of that process.

On the upside of my day: I managed to NOT buy anything to eat or drink while out and about.  I did spend lots of money on Running Room socks, which wear for almost ever!  I had 4 servings of veggies, and I had a rocking good work-out at the gym today.  Not only that, but I set myself up for an afterwork workout!

On the delicious but “down” side: I enjoyed 2 mini Cinnabon buns with cream cheese icing.  It’s been about 2 years since I enjoyed one of these, and my daughter brought them for desert.  We also had spaghetti with ground beef and vodka sauce.  It was a very nice meal.

I am feeling quite tired, and since I’ve had my cuppa tea, I’m going to sleep!  Early to work tomorrow!

Have a good one!

Marcia

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking!
This entry was posted in The Dailies, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

