Post Walk –

The Starting LineThese are a few of the pictures from the half marathon I’ve been talking about and training for.

If you’re thinking about doing something like this do make sure  you plan ahead and get some training in.  While you don’t need all the fancy gadgets that runners seem to have, training, a “camelback” and good shoes are vital  to your success.

Enough about that, I’ve posted a blow by blow description at 5 Colour Parachute with a few more pictures and details.  Suffice it to say that I passed everyone in the cheering galleries and everyone else passed me – at least in the half marathon.  Lots of others passed me too.

The walk went well.  I had to remember to fuel up.  Power Gel Double Lattes are just bad.  I’d rather have the real thing, but thanks anyways. Now I know.  The gel-pops were better – more like gummy-bears.  I  had my usual breakfast and coffee, with a banana before and after, and only one of the two granola bars I  brought with me.

And, I’m still not that hungry.  But I am going to my brother’s for supper.  I have lots of calories left to eat if I want them! According to My Fitness Pal, a walk like this, at my speed and weight burns about 1469 calories!

About Marcia Stehouwer

I have a great life (most days) and a small budget, so being frugal is one of my favourite hobbies. I started this blog after procrastinating for 3 months, on April Fool's Day. I knit, I read, I knit, I work... I am also about a quarter of the way through my goal to lose 100 pounds. So between knitting, working, reading etc., I also do some walking! EDIT: 2021. I am not closer to my weight goal, but moving forward. The budget is still small. We are renting our homestead and progressing towards our family dream!
This entry was posted in The Dailies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post Walk –

  1. Marcia, congratulations! You inspire me! I’m training with a group to walk the Missoula Half-Marathon in July. Just walked 10 miles this weekend. I agree with you — the Honey Stingers are the best for nutrition (no goo sticking to your fingers.) I have a question — what do you recommend for “carb loading” the week before the race? Thanks! Shelby in Montana.

  2. Marcia Stehouwer says:

    I didn’t carb load or anything. I just did my normal usual thing and walked for 4 hours on Sunday morning. The only thing I really did was the training via “Beginner’s Half-Marathon Trainer” bu Jon Ackland and then I just followed the workout schedule. Maybe if I had I would have finished sooner. I don’t know – in some ways I guess it was more like going for a very long steady walk with cheerleaders along the way. Not sure if that helps at all, though.
    M

Leave a comment